Home>Destinations>Central and South America>Top Diving Sites Of South America
galapagos diving
Central and South America Diving

Top Diving Sites Of South America

  1. Experience shark encounters at Malpelo Island – Colombia
Malpelo Island

Malpelo is the place to go to if you like un-crowded destinations. Often compared to the Galapagos Islands, Malpelo is renowned for its rich marine life. Malpelo is home to a 300-kilometer long volcanic underwater ridge. This is what attracts so much of marine life, along with the mixing of sea currents. It is quite common to see circles of fish and sharks while diving there. In some places the water is so deep that sunlight fails to reach there. However, Malpelo is not a diving destination for new divers. All divers going to Malpelo need to be experienced. There are strict diving requirements for safety regulations. A diver needs to follow these regulations in order to dive at Malapelo.


  1. Experience magic at Peninsula Valdes – Argentina
Peninsula Valdes

The Peninsula Valdes can be easily described as a magical diving destination. Located in Argentina, it is known for its cold temperatures. It is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the hub of ‘special’ marine life. The waters of Peninsula Valdes are flooded with penguins, orcas, southern right whales and fur seals. Most divers choose to start their trip with Puerto Madryn. The region is often referred to as the ‘gateway to the cold magical land’. Along with the abundant marine life, there are many shipwrecks and coral reefs. There is also a protected bay. Some other animals which you can see at the Peninsula Valdes include sea lions, Magellanic penguins and elephant seals.


  1. See Jubarte whales at the Abrolhos Marine Park – Brazil
Abrolhos Marine Park

The Abrolhos Marine Park is an archipelago. Located 43 miles off the coast of Brazil, it resembles more of a desert than an island. However, you would be deceived if you go by its looks. There is a lot of marine life thriving under the barren surface. And the best thing about the place is that it is mostly uninhabited. The water is warm and is home to almost 300 species of fish. Some frequent marine visitors include manta rays, turtles and dolphins. You might also get to see Humpback whales if you visit the Abrolhos Marine Park during February. The best time to dive at the Abrolhos Marine Park is from the month of December to April.


  1. Dive down to the fake Maoi statue at Easter Islands – Chile
Fake submerged Maoi statue at Easter Islands

Easter Islands is one of the greatest places for diving. The average underwater visibility is almost always around 60 meters on calm days. This underwater visibility is one of the biggest attractions of the region. No, there isn’t much marine life to talk about, but there are arches, rock formations and caves. However, the biggest attraction for divers is the completely fake ‘Maoi’ statue resting on the sea bed. The best time to visit the Easter Islands is between the months of September and May. Not many people are aware that the island is home to more than 100 species of tropical fish. It is also home to about 145 algae species. One of the most popular diving sites is the ‘Rapa Nui’.


  1. Experience high quality diving at Providencia – Colombia

The Providencia Island, along with the Santa Catalina Island, is home to the 3rd largest barrier reef in the world. This large coral reef consists of as many as 40 diving sites, which include everything from shipwrecks to underwater holes. Providencia is the place to see South America’s most beautiful corals. It is the top diving destination in Colombia and is a protected region. It is part of the ‘Seaflower Biosphere Reserve’, which is a UNESCO protected area. However, the diving conditions are perfect at Providencia. The water is warm enough and underwater visibility is excellent. About 13,000 tourists visit the place every year and a good majority of them are divers. The best time to visit Providencia is from December to April.


  1. Experience deep sea diving at Galapagos Islands – Ecuador
Marine Iguana at Galapagos Islands

The Galapagos is a unique group of islands located in Ecuador. They are world renowned for their biodiversity. Almost 20% of the wildlife which is found here cannot be found anywhere else in the world. The islands are of volcanic origin and are always at their lush green best. Galapagos is also part of a national park and is a preserved area. Deep sea diving is a popular activity in the islands. However, the best sites can only be accessed through a liveaboard — a type of cruise ship. Dive deep inside the waters of Galapagos to see creatures like sharks, whales, sea lions, dolphins and turtles. There is of course the marine iquana, which enjoys an iconic status.


  1. Explore the secrets at Fernando de Noronha – Brazil
Fernando de Noronha

The Fernando de Noronha is one of the best kept secrets in the world. Named after a Portuguese merchant, the island is a dream destination for divers, with plenty of sites to choose from. You can easily reach the island by taking a flight from mainland Brazil. Fernando de Noronha is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site and a marine park. Visibility under water is almost always around 50 meters, making diving a dream experience. Several species of marine creatures can be found in the waters of Fernando de Noronha. You can find anything from typical fish to manta rays. There are also reef sharks and sea turtles. The island is also home to huge pods of spinner dolphins.


  1. Be a part of the pristine beauty at Los Roques – Venezuela
Los Roques

Los Roques Islands are a group of 350 islands located in the Caribbean Sea. Known as one of the best diving destinations in the world, it is home to only 1500 people. The Los Roques is also a part of a national park and is a protected area. Marine life is always thriving at the reefs and the water is crystal clear. Many divers describe these islands as a ‘dream come true.’ While diving at the Los Roques, you can spot creatures like manta rays, nurse sharks and queen conch. The top diving locations include the ‘The Stone of Guaza,’ the ‘Tongue of the Ocean,’ ‘Boca del Medio,’ and ‘Boca del Cote.’

Originally posted 2017-05-05 05:36:37.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *